Awarding a state of food champions

The State’s highest performing and game-changing food businesses will be rewarded in the annual South Australian Food Industry Awards Program.

Agriculture, Food and Fisheries Minister Leon Bignell last night officially launched the 2014 Awards Program at the Adelaide University Boat Club.

“The annual Awards Program provides the opportunity for our dynamic food producers to raise the bar and seek even greater achievement,” he said.

Themed The State of Champions, the 2014 Awards will showcase the best of South Australia’s food industry. The theme coincides with the Awards Grand Final Gala Dinner to be held at the Adelaide Oval.

Minister Bignell said a new category – the Primary Industries and Regions South Australia Duncan MacGillivray Entrepreneur Award – has been introduced to honour the extensive contribution to the State’s food and wine industries of Duncan MacGillivray, who passed away in January.

“Introducing an award in Duncan’s name recognises his passion and achievements,” he said.

“The category aims to recognise an individual who has developed and driven a successful entrepreneurial idea for the food industry, encompassing the current Award categories of innovation, export, new product, sustainability, primary producer and people skills development.”

The Entrepreneur will be judged by a panel of industry experts and is not open to entry.

Catherine Barnett, Chief Executive Officer of Food South Australia Inc, which manages and hosts the Awards Program, says the awards not only recognises achievements within the food industry, but also enables businesses to evaluate and benchmark themselves against the best.

“Businesses also have the opportunity to connect with consumers through the Brand South Australia Consumer Award,” Ms Barnett said.

“Last year this new award, which allows the public to vote for their favourite South Australian food business, was a great success with more than 10,000 votes received and inaugural winner Robern Menz awarded as the State’s favourite business.

“This year the voting process has been extended from the SA Food Awards website to Facebook, Twitter and SMS, giving the public ample options to shout from the rooftop which South Australian food business they support.

“It allows the passionate spirit of our industry to shine through, with businesses provided creative license to engage directly with their local customers to encourage votes.”

Vote for your favourite SA food business via web, SMS 0447 FOODSA, Facebook /safoodawards or Twitter using @safoodawards and #ILoveSAFood


The 2014 South Australian Food Industry Awards Program recognises and celebrates individuals and businesses that are at the top of their game, and demonstrate outstanding vision, leadership and innovation.

The South Australian Food Industry Awards Program is proudly hosted by Food South Australia Inc with the support of the Government of South Australia through the Premium Food and Wine from our Clean Environment strategic priority.

Key dates

The Kick Off Launch Event: Wednesday 21 May
Applications Open: Wednesday 21 May
Applications Close: Monday 14 July at 5.00pm
Quarter Final Announcement: Wednesday 17 October
The Grand Final Gala Dinner: Friday 21 November


For more visit and connect on Facebook and Twitter at @safoodawards and use our hashtag #SAFoodAwards

Posted in Media14, News14
0 comments on “Awarding a state of food champions
1 Pings/Trackbacks for "Awarding a state of food champions"
Connect and share with #SAFoodAwards
Award categories
    Open Awards (up to 15 FTE staff OR over 15 FTEs)

  • Business Excellence Award, sponsored by Show Society Foundation
  • Export Award, sponsored by Visy
  • Innovation in Business Award, sponsored by Food Processing Equipment
  • Innovation in Food Award, sponsored by the South Australian Research & Development Institute
  • New Product Award, sponsored by Foodland SA
  • Primary Producer Award, sponsored by Thomas Foods International
  • Service Provider Award, sponsored by Moore Stephens South Australia
  • Sustainability Award, sponsored by Peats Soil and Garden Supplies

  • Individual Awards

  • Leader Award, sponsored by Bickford’s Group
  • Next Generation Award, sponsored by Macro Group Australia

  • Industry Awards

  • Hall of Fame Award, sponsored by San Remo
  • Duncan MacGillivray Entrepreneur Award, sponsored by Primary Industries and Regions South Australia
  • Education Award, sponsored by The University of Adelaide
  • Regional Award, sponsored by Primary Industries and Regions South Australia

  • The Consumer Award, sponsored by Statewide Super